SERIOUSLY – Four Months of Serious Nonsense

June 22, 2023 – October 21, 2023

When you’re looking for some “light” reading, check this out. My sister-in-law (J) sent a two-line rhyme 4 months ago and for the past four months, we have continued sending rhyming lines back and forth. My daughter (L) became interested in contributing occasionally as did my wife (JAF). I doubt you’ll want to read it ALL because of the nonsensical nature of it, but give it a try. Remember, it’s 4 months of nonsense!! (K)

J Simple words when spoken in rhyme

Become symphonies ne’er forgotten with time

K Writers collude with promising results

Not calling attention to either one’s faults

J The aim is to be funny or clever

Isn’t that the goal we endeavor?

K Perhaps a record we could set

For the longest poem in history yet

J And then when all is said and done

We can start on another to extend our run

K Me thinks this one we should extend

To be poet Laureates, shall we pretend?

J Oh.. no need for pretense it’s plain to see

Neither Penn Warren nor Whittemore can eclipse you or me.

K Let’s aspire to reach the Book of Guiness

There is no doubt that we have it in us

J Imagine our names there forever to dwell

What’s next for us, should we try for Nobel?

K Oslo’s award and a booming Wurlitzer

Encourages us toward the Prize of the Pulitzer

J Oh phooey with the trophies that others have won

Only a crown named for us befits what we’ve done

K A Lass is interested in making us three

I propose alphabetically if you agree

J Oh yes we should welcome with arms open wide

A gal so like us she’ll let silliness abide

K Two DAILY rhyming lines we need

Stirring thoughts on which to feed

L It’s an honor to join this lyrical team!

Though my lines may be simple, and not extreme.

J By adding another to sustain this pursuit

Your words will be welcome be they mighty or minute

K So onward we march with one goal in mind

Creating the most ridiculous poem of its kind

J Let nonsense now travel with the speed of a missile

Who else but us could devise this epistle?

K Would our verses be considered literary

If we used ALL the words from a dictionary?

L Would a discourse regarding the power of words

Be inspirational, or just make us nerds?

J. Would time be this fun or even exciting

If geeks did not chortle along with each writing?

K Barely, have I, the time to inhale

For when your lines appear, I must regale.

L As always your lines entertain and delight

Whether they be serious, ludicrous, or light!

J Our rhymes may not be lovely like a tree

Joyce Kilmer’s weren’t either but they’re fine for us three.

K Many thoughts in my brain, I think I’m delirious;

But also, my brain says this is not serious.

L Oh why must there be the drudgery of labor?

I’d rather tend my garden or sip tea with a neighbor.

L Oh why must there be the drudgery of labor?

I’d rather tend my garden or sip tea with a neighbor.

J It is grand to be free of time clock and bosses

To just do whatever and forget profits and losses.

K Your words jump at me as so inspirable

As a poet I think I may be rehire-able

L To do things you love, makes the journey delightful.

And along the way, create something insightful!

J Speaking of love and happy emotion

Is there anything finer than a good dog’s devotion?

K The Pulitzer Prize was naught but a dream

Others may think we are very extreme

L I could do without FAME in these modern days,

Though I’d welcome its partner, if only in praise.

J. Prizes or praise perhaps fame in great portion

Matters greatly to others but rhyming’s our fortune.

K A different career have you ever opined

I can definitely say I would have declined

L A teacher of young minds is a job I would treasure.

Though there’s something to be said of a woman of leisure!

J. My first job after college is one I most treasure

Planning activities for old folks hoping they would find pleasure.

K Satisfaction was mine at the end of each shift

Though rarely acknowledged, pride was my gift

L Where I see me now, was not where I saw me then…

Still, where I’ll be tomorrow, is where I should have been.

J. A nation divided by hate and by anger on the 4th of July feels like danger

But what if the fix to unite us again is ours if we just love our neighbor?

K When you “go down the tubes”, you’re becoming submersible

If you reach out for a hand then your sinking’s reversible

L I’ll throw you a lifeline and you’ll be assured

My hand won’t release you… your anchor secured

J. My hands too frail now to render aid if you fall

But my voice is still hardy so I’ll just caterwaul!

K When someone says “rock my world”

It does not mean that stones be hurled

L I’ve swung for the fences each time I’ve circled the sun.

Through plenty of curveballs, I still get a home run!

I don’t know the outcome, my future, or fate,

But my team cheers me on as I step up to the plate.

J. Birthdays are the time for thoughtful reflection.

I’ll recall the good times and try to forget the ever-expending mid-section

K If you perchance encountered a ghost from your past

Do you think FRIGHT would turn you to one of those fast?

L If life gets messy and you’re spun in reverse,

Are you now a backward poet who writes inverse?

J. There are days when an oh so clever refrain

can’t find find purchase in an old lady’s brain.

K I write right away when a strange thing appears

Like a bare bear encounter which tops my fears

L Here in our state, many strange sights can be viewed.

It’s possible you may meet a grizzly who’s nude.

J. A stubborn pile of snow still lingers in our crazy town

while trees in my backyard are beginning to brown.

K Is an art fare fair when the charge is so high

For they’re there to encourage our artistic eye

L Though the cents make no sense if they appear steep,

We know art shapes the world and so doesn’t come cheap!

J. I’ve never spent a penny on works of fine art.

The kid’s classics on my walls rendered joy to my heart.

K If a maid made your bed as if in a haze

Perhaps it’s the normal ending of her day’s daze.

L Sprucing up, or washing down, reorganizing and arranging

I am the maid and so must deal with all tasks ever-changing!

J I’m quite certain my clutter would make you both uneasy

And the dust motes and cobwebs might make you a bit sneezy.

K If you ate eight bowls of beans that were definitely fouled

Passing gas in a small crowd is not allowed aloud

L I love savory southwest green chiles, so spicy.

And even frijoles… though they can be dicey!

J I saw what you did there by rhyming a double

As bad beans and chiles always bubble up trouble.

K Whether weather is called nasty all depending

If you see sea swells that seem to have no ending

L Those who carry an umbrella may be under the weather,

Or they may be in sunshine and still have it together!

J If you say irregardless I’ll squirm at the term

It’s a redundant redundancy and gets firmly under my epiderm.

K If you sell cell phones strictly to preachers

Are they more wholly holy with heavenly features?

L Whether to write is quite the riddle

But with the right pen, words become a fiddle.

J. Cauliflower creak is a noise like a squeak that it makes if it grows too fast.

Farmers say if in a day one inch is amassed listen close to hear it broadcast.

K A ball you threw through the air at a window pane

Made the whole hole bigger when you tossed it again.

L Oh woe is me… I lost my mood ring… about which I knew not how I felt!

Like the Arizona breeze, emotions concealed, in the shade I would certainly melt!

J. It was a perfect pitch and the whack of the bat when I hit it

sent it soaring high then right thru his window. What a great hit, I admit it.

K A dog’s tail tale was when brushed by a mower

Did not knot because he just kept it much lower

L Alas, I fear, I cannot keep up with your literary deftness and skill.

So, I shall bow out, but appreciate the chance to ride this EPIC thrill!

J He thought he sat in rarified air, heir to a pair of cloisonné pears.

I accept he said, except of course, turns out they were stolen wares.

K If you want some bread, you need knead dough

In my eye I see it as a bake-off show

L Missing the extrovert to my introvert, the undeniable queen of drama!

Life punctuated you with a period… How I wish it was just a comma!

J. Living on in the memory of those one leaves behind

bestows eternal breath on the departed,unbroken by limits of time or mind.

K I’ve beaten a dead horse with thoughts and groans

It’s time I move farther from the homophones

L From every Mother’s point of view, no other offspring could be as amazing!

And if She is blessed, no matter the lens, She will always be star-gazing!

J To laugh at others,belittle their plight or condemn them unworthy is base

But to laugh at oneself, at our own tommyrot, reveals not evil but grace.

K Implements used in the aerospace industry

Should always be returned to a bin dust free

K If a scarf around your neck is to alter your mood

Is that the same scarf when referenced to food?

J. If it be for personal possessions or great wealth that you strive

when you can say, I have enough, you are the richest man alive

K Challenges throughout your life, may within you abide

Face those tests with a straight, long and forceful stride

J I wonder if everyone took the time to write poetry

Would they see we’re not part of some exclusive coterie?

K My words are neither strong nor of any benefit

Simply stated, that’s the long and short of it

J Yet when your words are woven with such delightful skill

It adds a fine feather to your undeniably clever quill.

K When you join your thoughts in collaboration

The result is your personal fabrication

J A world where folks needn’t hide in their closets

Is the dream of equality where everyone profits.

K Southwest desert needs a thorough drenching

Sites of fallen Saguaro , very gut-wrenching

J To argue the science with the evidence so utterly clear

Makes me want to slap someone silly, so here..hold my beer!

K Nature is rebelling with total devastation

Making some areas infertile as if by castration

J We were all born with an instinct to distrust the stranger

Sadly some never learned compassion trumps danger.

K The marvelous brain has so much to give

Retaining sweet memories for us to relive

J May your laughter be raucous and your eyes twinkle with mirth.

There’s no better detractor to quell calamity on earth.

K My bucket list contains this final item in it

Before taking my last breath, shuffle one more minute

J How weak we are when we surrender to a hector.

He’s a scared little coward, he’s not Hannibal Lector!

K Opposing down is the jig, on the wall a penmanship quote

The game rolls on until we hear a roly-poly’s note

J Apparently an elephant died last night, his old body utterly finished.

Never our foe,but our brother and friend the loss leaves us all diminished.

K When you shout out a dare, be prepared to act

Perhaps even better is a less confrontational tact

K Does never mean there is no end to your eventual fate

What meaning then is it said that it’s better to be late

K If you think you must hurry through each daily chore

You waste life’s moments both after and before

J If life gives you jitters and causes great alarm

Wallowing within it just causes more harm.

K To not know is something that you can make right

To ignore what we know may, to you, be delight

J You can believe if you wish that a fissure is a crack

But an earthquake might dispel your alternative fact.

K How wide is the gap over which you must leap

Before failing the jump , visually check how deep

J. If you repeat a silly blunder again and again

The results won’t get better and silly will win.

K Through the heat of Summer, I plead for relief

Because I picked this place, I’ll suffer the grief

J. When you can find contentment by just sitting still,

Perhaps you’ve discovered that happiness is a skill.

K When you opt to pay it forward, a good turn is done

That person may repay you with a much deserved one

J A lad on YouTube sees a scruffy yard and knocks to offer a free mow.

Asking nothing in return but to post it, hoping kindness will one day grow.

K Who doesn’t love some company when all is going wrong

To drag you from your misery, you need somebody strong

J. He should probably claim dotage when telling his tale.

Considering dementia is preferable to landing in jail

K If you’re waiting for some news whether it be good or bad

When that news doesn’t reach you, you’re more likely to be glad

J. Does my righteous anger come from a heart that are pure?

Or is it merely sanctimony I seek to obscure?

K Love may conceal that which you don’t want believed

Yet either heart eventually will likely not be deceived

J I once unwittingly donned two socks clinging fast to my sweater.

How everyone grinned at me all day, I thought life just couldn’t be better!

K What were your dreams in your young years of age

If they’re not complete, never too late to turn the page

L I would be a lifelong learner, whether for career or for a hobby.

Along with being a world traveler to see Greece or Abu Dhabi!

J. Perhaps a yard filled with kids and critters of every breed

would be a fine life I think, what more could I possibly need?

K When your work shift is over and you step away from the task

Self fulfillment and pride is where your being should bask

J In an effort the church made themselves perfectly clear

With a sign by the door saying Thou Shalt Not Park Here!

K When one is a senior, keep a phone list of physicians

Included at the list’s bottom should be the mortician’s

J If it is true that only the good die young, oh dear..

do you think folks are asking just why I’m still here?

K If you have that sinking feeling for reasons unknown

Reach out your hand to mine and we will never be alone

J I think I’ll start a bucket list but one with a little twist

I’ll fill it instead with the bounty I have, instead of what I missed.

K What mysteries were there for you along life’s road you’ve traveled

When looking back from maturity, have they now been unraveled?

J. I thought when the kids grew up and were out on their own

That I could relax and live blissfully in a worry-free zone.

K Facing tough obstacles, what’s easier said than done

Is to take on those challenges, not turn away to run

J. Watching storms batter the earth, feeling the temperature rise

If we fail to address this chaos, it surely will be our demise.

K A summer downpour, a youthful memory in my head arose

Splashing, soaking, laughing, squishing mud between my toes

J. It is called the great Minnesota get together, the largest state fair.

2.1 million visitors, a 12 day affair. Fun, I’m sure, yet I’ve never been there.

K In silence I sit, reliving fond memories of loved ones departed

Never to be forgotten are our fur babies who left us broken hearted

J. Freedom for me, but not for thee, the proclamation of kings old as time.

Favor for a few but fairness for just one, atrocity in the end is the crime.

K If you could paint your face to perform as a circus clown

Would the colors show a twinkly smile or a teary, dreary frown

J Funny you should mention clowns who smile or frown

My old-lady laugh lines have turned my smile upside down.

K Ever use a clothes pin and hook a card to your bicycle’s wheel

The spokes would make a motor sputter sound very real

J Memories that deliver us from this hour to our own long ago

Bring back pivotal or even mundane days like a vivid echo.

K A braggart wanted an opinion on his story he thought great

At the end of his “tail” and mine my response was to flatulate

J On this Labor Day, I won’t belabor the simple fact

It’s much better to be labored than it is to be sacked.

K As a kid, did you have some roller skates that came with a key

You’d turn the prongs into your shoes as tight as they could be

Judy The poets submitting their two lines of script ..

Have reached incredible genius and amazing wit

J I had those skates, a pogo stick and stilts that stood me eight feet tall.

I preferred cap guns over pretty dolls, driving poor Mom right up the wall.

K Rubber from an inner tube; a leather tongue from an old shoe

Some string to knot it all together and a slingshot made for you

JAF Memories of childhood games come up; Jacks, Double Dutch, jump rope and kick the can!

Now as I peak over 80, can’t quite squat or jump, but I can now watch favorite sports as a dedicated fan

J. No slingshots allowed because they’ll surely put an eye out!

Mom’s sayings were gold, like..HOLD YOUR HORSES she’d shout.

K In Winter after a snowball fight, your cotton gloves were soaked

Your fingers burned with cold, through your scarf your red nose poked

JAF We worry about heat, twisters, hurricanes, flooding and monsoons

Mother Nature rears back and continues her tune!

J. I often feel much younger than my advancing years

Til I glance into the mirror then actuality appears.

K In Spring as the grass grew green and the flowers began to bloom

The smells so refreshing, the warm breeze ending winter’s gloom

J. Such a lovely blessing are big sisters and brothers.

It is their council I’d seek first if given my druthers

K The doctors no longer proclaim that I am as fit as a fiddle

With sagging skin, waning sight and bones somewhat brittle!

J I often ponder seriously why my kids think I need a chaperone.

Was it when I forgot whatever it was or when I thought the remote was my phone?

K The grass mowed on a baseball field, a highlight of a Summer day

Though perspiring from head to toe would never curtail your play

J. Grant and I got into into such trouble as a pair.

His Dad chided but Mom’s amusement was hard to forebear.

JAF Political controversy theories abound

Leaving us to scratch our heads and trace the latest sound

K A player named Heidi kept her pitch count very tidy

Her curves were mighty and she homered from righty

JAF To share a birthday with a special brother-in-law is quite unique.

Because several years separate us, I remain the antique!

J. I’ve never met parents who made a bigger deal of our birthdays.

Homemade ice cream & cakes attended by every kin of the Greys!

K Remember in the Fall, the crinkly leaves you stacked so high?

Would it not be fun to jump in them with one more valiant try?

J. I think all animals are much smarter than we think they are,

some with a capacity for empathy exceeding mere humans by far.

K When young did I have dreams for that which I yearned?

With dedication, achievable dreams is what I have learned

J. You wouldn’t think ordering fish was a big deal.

But the mistakes they made ranged from bizarre to unreal!

JAF This fish tale is hard to believe

My sweet sister’s generous gift has caused her to grieve

K This is a “fine kettle of fish” is a phrase that is not used very much

A company’s mistake shipped us to take a freezer-full of fish to clutch

J. “It’s darkest just before dawn” is such an odd thing to proclaim.

An idiom to mean something no doubt but nonsensical just the same.

K A proverb most likely lost on students today of course

Solve the problem, just don’t put the cart before the horse

J. Have you ever regretted a road not taken?

Or was your route instead a blessing..disaster forsaken

k If money is the root of all evil, I must be on the goody side

If given a choice early on, I’d still choose here to reside

J. To show compassion for suffering souls are acts we can applaud.

But to show the same toward nefarious men displays the grace of God.

K When it’s said practice makes perfect, how long does it take

For after hundreds rounds of golf, my ball still finds the lake

J. The perfect golfer is not the one who aces every hole.

But the one who perseveres instead with tenacious heart and soul.

K Have the items in your shopping bag made you feel content

If so, then praise yourself knowing that is money well spent

J. A youngster wishes to be older than one day yearns to be a teen.

Perhaps it is why old folks are seemingly unseen.

K When you’re high above the earth in a tube of metal tin

How long after wheels were up did you finally settle in

J. I was on a flight once with a wing-flap malfunction.

One fellow screamed for a priest to administer extreme unction.

K What does a new lease on life mean to the down and outers

They’ll question the cost only because they are suspicious doubters

J. Noisy gongs and clanging cymbals are those who speak but never hear.

Faith, hope and charity prevail only when we face truth without fear.

JAF The exciting wins and losses of our baseball teams are winding to a finish…

In six months time our memories of key plays will no doubt diminish

K “No problem”, a response I get when thanking someone for what they did

The proper response is “you are welcome” and that is what should be said

J. Why is it when our guy is in casual attire, we think that it’s just fine?

But if it is one of theirs who dresses down, he’s a disrespectful swine.

K I’m drawn to a keyboard to type words which might make sense

Yet today and beyond if this be read, they will all be in past tense

J. Did you know four days in our week are named after gods of Norway?

Tyr, Odin, Thor and Frigg aka Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday.

K If I had been robbed blind as reported by a criminalist

I would decide, without anger, to become a minimalist

J A sweet cat is a cat but more than one cat is a clowder

If I came upon a sloth of bears I’d probably take a powder.

JAF A hybrid of a cow and a swan is totally absurd

A blend of cow & buffalo called beefalo, tis true from what I’ve heard

K If I saw bears or beefalos and here they now come

Rip my shirt, do CPR and fill my pants with talcum

J. One Zebra is a Zebra but more than one is called a Zeal.

A group of Hippos is a Bloat like you get after a very big meal.

K What difference does a day make when you are but a child

When a Senior, each day’s dawn is the reason you have smiled

J. A gathering of Kittens is called a Kindle, okay i’m nearly through.

The top prize..a “Flamboyance of Flamingos” is just too hard to outdo.

JAF The feel of Autumn in the air

Dispels any thoughts of despair

K If money is the root of all evil, I was dug from a garden of good

Planted in my brain, a thought does remain of being a Robinhood

J. Mark Twain said history doesn’t repeat but instead often rhymes.

So trade off an Adolph for one we can’t shake off and that is a sign of our times

K Sometimes a day will pass and I my brain for rhymes is blank

Today is when I’ll fish them out from the depths where they sank

J. President Chester Arthur, called “Elegant Arthur” had 60 pairs of pants.

But who was it that fought in slovenly clothes, oh those were General Grants

JAF Birkenstocks are quite the rage and Kermit’s favorite shoe

Altho a young lad growing up, that brand he never knew

K Cardboard in my sneakers with an opening in the sole

They lasted just a little longer by covering up that hole

J. Remember the patches we used to cover holes in our denim jeans?

Now if anything’s a bit long in the tooth, it ain’t worth a hill of beans.

JAF We are a throw-away society for sure

Altho I get satisfaction to mend a damaged item and hope it will endure

K Remember those cowboy movies and outlaws looking like hicks

Ever count the number of times the six-shooters fired more than six

J. And the saloon fights with chairs broken over some guy’s poor head,

But if it really happened that way, the poor gent would surely be dead.

JAF You can’t hardly beat Roy, Dale and Trigger

Their wholesome film exploits left me aquiver

K I once was able to run with some speed at the top

Now my pace is so slow, I have to sped up to stop

J. Their dress is casual, emotions hotter and speech is oft profane.

This is the look of new blood we sought to end the seniors reign.

K When a little doggie goes from springing to a bred-heifer gal

She’s gone from being a doggie to naught but a cow

J. Sometimes if I got angry I would just count to four.

But if I got really mad, it was better if i just swore.

K If you were thrown by a bucking horse from the merry-go-round

If you broke a bone my hope would be that it was not compound

J. When at the store shopping you’re given a sample of brie

Did you then buy it cuz you liked it or cuz you got it for free?

JAF Apple butter, bacon drippings are two we always had in our refrigerator

Never one to throw food away, Mom was certainly our innovator

K Gathered around the radio for Tales of the Texas Rangers

Amos n’ Andy and Jack Benny lightened Sam Spade’s dangers

J. We look back fondly on our far distant past

To the days we spent longing to grow up too fast.

K Did you ever stare at a test pattern on your 12 inch TV screen

When the peacock spread color wings, twas a sight to be seen

. DiMaggio had a 56-game hitting streak, a record to this day!

Was Joltin Joe’s feat immortal or will someone take it away?

JAF Whether absurd or cataclysmic, offer to be temporary speaker

Will definitely leave our nation incredibly weaker

K Did your Daddy take you fishing; give you a worm to hook as bait

Did you think that squiggly thing realized it finally reach its fate

J. I remember that he told me no more fishing til I hooked the worm

A very cruel choice when you’re 10, cuz it just made me squirm

K When I say I’m going to do two lines as I do daily near this time

One might think I’m into drugs, but the lines are for this rhyme

J. Frederic Baur, inventor of Pringles spends eternity in a familiar can.

The best place for my ashes said he, leaving the flavor up to his clan

K The road may be long and narrow, but if your mind is open wide

You’ll reach the end without a care if you take a purposeful stride

J. When meeting a stranger, instinct taught us discretion.

But dwelling in fear all of our days, only leads to aggression.

JAF The autumn pumpkin patch excursion with our kids were so much fun

While old memories still linger,those happy feelings weave into our hearts unspun

K When I hear a bird warble or see a hummer dip to a flower

A peace rises in my heart enjoying nature at its finest hour

J. He spent the day outside building the stray cat a warm dwelling.

They seem to know where he lives, this man with a heart so compelling.

K If you morning-drive through Albuquerque on October’s first weekend

You’ll see a sky full of hot air balloons at a fiesta you should attend

J. In the north,autumn is a marvelous riot of colors that glow

red, orange, yellow then brown, an omen of a long winter’s woe.

JAF Organization is a goal we all aspire

It doesn’t seem to matter much when we finally retire

K Artificial Intelligence can create poems so clever

But instilling emotions and feelings, I think not ever

J. Contentment and gratitude are worthy goals within reach.

The profound lesson imparted in Lou Gehrig’s great speech.

JAF The bold word pulchritudinous can leave you quite confused

A quick Google search finds you pleasantly amused

K A gentle breeze blowing and low tree branches swaying

Come touch me is what it seemed the leaves were saying

J. The Diamondback’s performance created a pulchritudinous win.

My goodness over the Dodgers no less! Oh where do I begin?

K Easy they said, like a walk in the park, as you tried to scale that rock

Don’t listen to those who’ve done it before said the attending doc

J. Were there once times more humdrum each day quite the same

when politicians were serious folks or was it always a con game?

JAF “History is a set of lies agreed upon”

Perhaps written today and not 300 years ago by Napoleon!

K A fgarden tomato and a shaker of salt is a delectable snack

I did that often as a kid; my old mind just took me back

J. Bombs do not bring peace but instead inflame a searing hate.

What good end comes when retribution exacts a coequal fate?

K It seems just like yesterday that the year had just begun

Winter, Spring, Summer gone and soon Fall will be done

J. Say you own a $68 million dollar home but decide it’s not up to snuff.

Well, if you’re Bezos, then buy next door too, maybe that’ll be enough.

K No matter what I have acquired or what goal I had in sight

My response to a query of how am I – Life is Just Right

J. The very first cab company had a fleet of electric carriages.

Even then in 1897 they knew gas had many disadvantages.

JAF “The world is changed by example not by your opinions”

Newsmen and politicians strive to influence our decisions.

K Nothing clears the air more than a morning walk with your pet

Sharing the stroll with your animal-loving partner even better yet

J. If a man has a name that matches his profession

Did Doc Pullin chose to be a Dentist or was it predestined?

K My best friend talks to me with a sneeze-like sputter

Amazingly I comprehend my adoring dog’s “mutt”er

J. I think I shall be happy today and not let a thing sully my mood.

No worry or partisan sniveling allowed to muscle in or to intrude.

K Shall we wind this down on October twenty one

May your last lines reflect four months of fun

For Thursday October 19

J. If we can teach them to fight not with but for one and all,

to honor the stranger, we prepare them for all they might befall.

JAF Clever words written in poetry or prose

Help keep elderly people on their toes

K When you journey alone encountering amazing views

With no one to share your vistas, think of what you lose

L It’s a whatchamacallit, a doohickey, a couple of gizmos too…

Some thingamajigs and doodads, and I am well-to-do!

For Friday October 20

J. Went to get a haircut last week to feel a little more human.

Lordy what big ears I have, now look .. I’m Alfred E Neumann!

JAF Everybody needs a daily special hug

Sometimes the best medicine isn’t a drug

K To share your goals and passions is so inwardly fulfilling

Knowing those dreams began in a garden you’ve been tilling

L Childhood songs swirling in my head… Actually I’m belting them out loud!

Two small dogs as my audience, though you’d think there was a vast crowd!

For Final Day SATURDAY October 21

J. What a challenge to keep up with the rhyme-master Kermit

Adding Laurie and Judy made the endeavor near perfect!

JAF All things must come to an end

Unfortunately for us clever folk it takes on a different spin

L These lyrics conveyed a frame of mind, one we opted to expose;

Through cleverness and sincerity, delivered in wondrous prose.

K Thank you for taking the time to enhance a bodily sensation

Though we won’t make it to Ripley’s be proud of OUR creation

There is no end to infinity that can possibly be described

Nor an end to all the meaning of lines you have inscribed…

THE END ?? .

About kkfroggie

Native Virginian, 4 years in the USAF, became a "one-woman man" in 1961 (Judy is my soulmate forever), 6 years with Sandia Corporation in Albuquerque, New Mexico, 28 years in ATC, 5 years instructing ATC, retired, enjoying the heat of Arizona, lovin' the American Southwest and playing lots of golf!! Life is "just right"!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to SERIOUSLY – Four Months of Serious Nonsense

  1. Jill Page says:

    It was a most welcome adventure for each day to rhyme.

    Your words always inspired..to try even harder next time.

  2. kkfroggie says:

    Thank you, Jill…I’m already missing “The Challenge”…perhaps we should start anew??

Leave a comment